Resources and Reserves Committee

The IGA Resources and Reserves Committee actively engages in matters related to the global standardization of geothermal terminology, methods of geothermal resources and reserves estimation, and classification systems for geothermal potential. The Committee collaborates with the IGA Service Company, the World Bank, the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, the International Renewable Energy Agency, and other bodies to progress its programs. The self- nominated members of the committee each have a personal and professional interest and experience in geothermal resource estimation and classification. They represent a cross section of the teaching and research sector, government agencies, intergovernmental agencies, geothermal developers, industry representative associations, exploration consultancies, and professional services.

Current members of the Committee are:

Graeme Beardsmore (Chair)

National ICT Australia (Australia)

Miklos Antics

GCP-IP (France)

Gordon Bloomquist

consultant to the World Bank (USA)

Paul Brophy


Dornadula Chandrasekharam

Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (India)

Paolo Conti

University of Pisa (Italy)

Gioia Falcone

Clausthal Technical University (Germany)

Albert Genter

Electricité de Strasbourg (France)

Geoffrey Giudetti

Enel Green Power (Italy)

Luis Carlos Gutiérrez-Negrín

Mexican Geothermal Association (Mexico)

Marek Hajto

AGH University of Science and Technology in Kraków (Poland)

Colin Harvey

Geological and Nuclear Sciences, retired (New Zealand)

Manfred Hochstein

University of Auckland (New Zealand)

Eduardo Iglesias Rodríguez

Electric Research Institute (Mexico)

Beata Kepinska

Mineral and Energy Economy Research Institute, Academy of Sciences (Poland)

Horst Kreuter

Geothermal Engineering (Germany)

Jim Lawless

Sinclair Knight Merz, retired (New Zealand)

Inga Moeck

University of Alberta (Canada)

Juliet Newson

Contact Energy (New Zealand)

Hugo Fernando Navas

Consultant (Guatemala)

Zhonghe Pang

Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Academy of Sciences (China)

Fernando S. Peñarroyo

Punopena Law (Philippines)

Paolo Romagnoli

Enel Green Power (Italy)

Horst Rüter

Harbourdom (Germany)

Ladislaus Rybach

ETH Zürich, emeritus (Switzerland)

Benedikt Steingrímsson

Iceland Geosurvey (Iceland)


Geological Engineering Program, Bandung Institute of Technology (Indonesia)

Janos Szanyi

University of Szeged (Hungary)

Meseret Teklemariam

United Nations Environmental Program (Ethiopia)

Alison Thompson

Canadian Geothermal Energy Association (Canada)

Colin Williams

United States Geological Survey (USA)

Kasumi Yasukawa

National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan)

Sadiq Zarrouk

University of Auckland (New Zealand)